Not yet in Sweden, I promise

24 02 2013

“I grow up in Chicago, and there was always snow. In Los Angeles there never was, so we would always import snow!”

- David Hasselhoff

I woke up yesterday morning with the sound of the snow heavily falling outdoors and for a moment I thought I was already in Sweden. My mother suddenly appeared to take me back to reality and then I realized I may be still in Barcelona. So… What to do? This badly-timed cold front is too late for an influx of northern wildfowl, so the only effect it may have may be a noticeable sedimentation of early spring migrants.

Finally, I decided to visit the Llobregat Delta, a good place for both migrants and wildfowl. The firsts views of the landscape were pretty unusual, with the plain surrounded by white mountains. It was cold, but there was no wind, so the conditions were almost perfect to do some birding.

Image

There were quite a lot crag martins flying over the Cal Tet lagoon and, among them, my first house martin. A pied wagtail had been sighted a few hours before, but I didn’t manage to find it. Moreover, it was plenty of wildfowl: more than 80 red-crested pochards, 300 shovelers, gadwalls, some shelducks, hundreds of teals, mediterranean, black-headed, yellow-legged and an Audouin’s gull… but the best was this female ferruginous duck, a bird always nice to see.

Image

A greater spotted cuckoo (also my first this year) flushed at Cal Nani marshes did demonstrate that spring is already in the air. The bird showed well, sat on a fence for a while and later moved to the top of a blackberry bush.

Image

We don’t have much time left till the arrival of the bulk of swallows, willow warblers and subalpine warblers, but let’s see where do I am when this happens.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 686 other followers

