Two seawatching points

28 02 2012

Everytime I’ve been living in the same place for more than a month, I’ve needed a place to seawatch. When I choose the Canary Islands, I thought this would not be a problem, since this is an island and the sea is everywhere. However, not all the capes or breakwaters are the same. 

Looking at the shape of Tenerife island and bearing in mind birds are going northwards in this season, the southern coast must be better than the northern one, but the Kittiwakes I saw the first day at Punta del Hidalgo made me think that maybe birds are passing all around. I was not convinced at all, so I went to Playa de las Teresitas on saturday and did an hour of seawatching that produced what follows:

  • Gannet: 28
  • Cory’s shearwater: 12
  • Manx shearwater: 2
  • Leach’s storm petrel: 1
  • Sandwich tern: 2
  • Bar-tailed godwit: 23 (in one flock)

In comparison, one hour at Punta del Hidalgo on yesterday morning:

  • Cory’s shearwater: 79
  • Manx shearwater: 1

So it seems Punta del Hidalgo is a good place for birds breeding here, but not to see spring  migration. Having checked that, I still don’t know which of them would be better for a Barolo’s shearwater…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

