Start!

18 09 2012

“To step out into the dark
Now I’m ready”

– Ready to start, The Arcade Fire

Tomorrow is the day! I take off at 18:45, landing at Vigo airport at 9:30. The whole day feeling nervous, anxious… The Cornide de Saavedra, an old but warm research vessel, will be my home in the next 17 days. Wake up early in the morning, take a coffee and go out to the deck. The first image of each day being a flock of great shearwaters, some pomarine skuas, terns, gulls, gannets, storm-petrels. I couldn’t be happier.

I would like to share some of the highlights of last year’ campaigns since I didn’t have the blog yet. I prospected the Mediterranean coast, the Atlantic coast, the Cantabric coast, the Gulf of Cádiz, Moroccan coast and of course the Canaries, seeing most of Iberian seabirds and meeting unforgettable people. I will be out in the sea for a few time this year, so I will try to take profit of each minute.

The history started in July 2011, at Castelló harbour. That campaign finished in Málaga, so I saw the Mediterranean species. Audouin’s gull was one of the commonest gull species. It was interesting to see some juveniles in Cabo de Gata area… maybe a breeding evidence? The Scopoli’s shearwaters were brightful, with some unexpected Cory’s in between.
Other highlights included an adult Long-tailed skua, an Eleonora’s falcon and lots of Mediterranean storm-petrels.

The next campaign was in september at Banco de Galicia, a mountain placed 120 miles off Galicia. This is a well-known good area for Band-rumped storm-petrels and I saw more than two hundreds of them among some Leach’s and Wilson’s. The fresh plumage shown by all the individuals pointed to the winter population, foraging in the area in their way back to breeding grounds. There I saw as well my first Fea’s/Desertas petrel, some White-faced storm-petrels, Long-tailed skuas, Sabine’s gull, an offshore Short-eared owl and the rest of commoner migrants. The last day, 3 hours before entering Celeiro harbour, a nice adult Roseate tern did culminate my work.

Without time to digest that sightings, I found myself again aboard, this time off Vigo and surrounding the Galician coast, heading north. The first days were promising: another roseate tern, Wilson’s storm-petrel… but when we passed Finisterre, it got even better! 2 South polar skuas and a Barolo’s shearwater… what else?

My next step was the Gulf of Cádiz. I didn’t know what to expect there… Mediterranean species, Atlantic species? The result was a nice mixture of both. I saw a Wilson’s storm-petrel and some Leach’s, but also 3 Yelkouan shearwaters and many Scopoli’s. My last 2 Sabine’s gull of the year and at least 5 great shearwaters, noting compared with the large amounts of them I had seen in the Bay of Biscay but good numbers keeping in mind they are still rarities in Andalucia.

An then… going south to the Canaries. The voyage was quite boring. Leach’s, band-rumped and white-faced storm-petrels near Banco de Dacia and la Concepción and a Green turtle off Casablanca were the best. In the Canaries, the story did not change too much, but cetaceans are always present in that waters and the sighting of 3 Killer whales in the Bocayna strait did compensate my efforts. A week after, in 2 consecutive days, a Fea’s/Desertas petrel each day were the only bird in 18 hours of census. I was lucky to take some pictures, maybe the first ones good enough for species identification in Spanish waters.

I don’t have target birds for this year, I just will be patient.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

