Yes, it’s cold

8 03 2013

“How can you expect a man who’s warm to understand one who’s cold?”

– Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

I am already in Sweden, where I will be for the next 3 months, working for the Falsterbo Fågelstation. My work will consists mainly in surveying breeding birds in the Skanör Peninsula but I will also help (and learn from!) ringing and bird counting. I arrived on yesterday evening and met Stephen Menzie, who kindly took me at the bus stop. After having seen the house, talk a bit about birds and dinner (in the end!) I went to sleep with the feeling that today would be an amazing day.

Faro2

Already in the morning, the windy conditions has not allowed us to ring, but anyway we’ve visited the lighthouse to meet the Fågelstation staff and also to bird around. The first view of the Baltic Sea confirmed what I’ve always heard: it’s a paradise for diving ducks. It was plenty of eiders, large flocks of common scoters passing throw, some red-breasted mergansers, goldeneyes and 3 velvet scoters also flying eastwards. In a lagoon just in the middle of the Flommen Golf Course, there were 2 whooper swans among quite a lot tufted ducks. Looking at this image, 2 thoughts came to my mind: one is that I had not seen a whooper swan for 3 years and the other is that you don’t realize what a common bird is the tufted duck until you cross the Pyrenees. When we were leaving the area, a crane flew over.

Cygnus cygnus

Grus grus

Back at home, it was already lunch time even it was still 12:00. This cultural difference has always caused me a sort of “stomach jet lag” that I hope to recover from soon. The good new was that I had still all the afternoon to go out. However, I don’t know many places and it was still windy, so I preferred to repeat more or less the same itinerary from this morning, but focusing on different species. The dunes along the Flommen coast looked great for either shore larks or snow buntings but I did not manage to see any. A nice (nice for me) adult great black-backed gull surrounded by quite a lot of both herring and common gulls were enough for the first day. The whooper swans were not in the same place than did in the morning, but 2 oystercatchers were feeding on the nearby shore. Stephen told me they are just migrants up there, what means migration has already started.

Larus marinus

Haematopus ostralegus

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 03 2013
Nachthawk

I envy you… friend of mine used to live in Skanör… just round the corner. It is such a brilliant place… enjoy it!

9 03 2013
Helena Navalpotro (@hlenalena)

Pretty good man! 😀

4 07 2013
Seagull Pictures

Jonathan looked out at the water and noticed a lack of gulls he knew.
So, he decided to bide his time and watch over his new territory.
It didn’t take long for some foes to arrive on the scene and demand he give up his roost. But Jonathan was defiant and stood his ground. Eventually, the other birds gave up and simply left.

Leave a Reply

