Candy

30 03 2013

“I wish it was the sixties, I wish I could be happy
I wish, I wish, I wish that something would happen”

The Bends, Radiohead

The weather forecast is always promising. As Sophie said, there is always a smiley sun in the 5th day, but then, when this day finally arrives, new snow showers are coming sometimes from Poland, sometimes from hell. There is no migration at all and neither local birds are actively singing.

Columba oenas

In that context, the feeder in our garden seems to be the only place with some birds flying around. Actually, it’s nice for me to see even stock doves and of course caudatus long-tailed tits. A flock of them appeared yesterday or maybe I’d better say re-appeared, since we had already seen them a couple of weeks ago. They were quite active, singing and fighting, going from one tree to the other.

Aegithalos caudatus caudatus

Aegithalos caudatus caudatus2

Aegithalos caudatus caudatus4

I don’t know what’s the southernmost point where this subspecies has been sighted, but it’s quite probable that someday one of these white-headed lollipops would reach Spain. I hope there would be somebody in the field to report it…

Aegithalos caudatus caudatus3

Actions

Information

2 responses

30 03 2013
Far-off World

Nice shoots and awesome trip Marcel! I wish the weather clears up. I’m Àngel the guy that 1 year ago shared with you some Canary Flora and Geobotany lessons and 2 month ago yelled at Ribes de Freser. Salut i sort!

30 03 2013
Marcel Gil Velasco

Hey Àngel! Thank you! I didn’t know you was in Orkney! Very nice place also for birding… I am now following your blog, let’s see where do we met each other next time!

Leave a Reply

